You are not signed in. Would you like to sign in or register?My basket (0 items. Total £0.00)

Browse by category

Previously viewed

You haven't yet viewed any products on our store. If you've been here before, you may need to sign in.

The Children's Fairy Tale Collection: Chicken Licken

The Children's Fairy Tale Collection: Chicken Licken
Rollover image to zoom. View large image
The Children's Fairy Tale Collection: Chicken LickenThe Children's Fairy Tale Collection: Chicken LickenThe Children's Fairy Tales complete set of 12 books
Our price: £3.99
Sorry, this item is currently out of stock. If you create an account, we can send you an email when it becomes available.

Chicken Licken is the fable of a little chicken that thinks the world is coming to an end, and runs about warning everyone that the sky is falling on them after a falling acorn from an oak tree hits him on the head. Chicken Licken rushes about, warning other animals that a piece of sky fell and hit him. He gathers Henny-Penny, Cocky-Locky, Ducky-Lucky, Drakey-Lakey, Goosey-Loosey, Gander-Lander, and Turkey-Lurkey who all run to find the King, to tell him that the sky is falling in. They do not come to a good end…

The story was originally an oral tale, but it is thought the Brothers Grimm first wrote it down. Many countries have a form of this story, and many use a different name for the character. In this book, most of those names appear in the form of other characters that believe and follow Chicken Licken. The story is told to warn people not to believe all they are told.


The Tarantula Tales are much-loved traditional fairy tales and fables, retold for today with friendly and humorous illustrations, for any time and bedtime.

The series is ideal for reading aloud and sharing with 2-4 year olds, and perfect for new readers to tackle alone.


TPS: 167 x 114mm; 32pp; colour-illustrated book. Hardback with printed-paper laminated case.

ISBN: 9781910680759

Send to a friend or post on:
Show price in: US ($) | Euro (€)